Mountain trail system · Southwest Utah (Cedar City / Duck Creek)

Cedar Mountain / Markagunt OHV System

Dixie NF loops on the Markagunt Plateau near Duck Creek, Panguitch Lake and Cedar City.

Last verified Oct 27, 2026 (America/Denver)

Orange aspen trees under a blue sky along Highway 143 on the Dixie National Forest, Cedar City Ranger District, Utah
Aspens on the Dixie National Forest, Cedar City Ranger District, Utah (Hwy 143 area, US Forest Service). Area scenery for the Cedar Mountain district; not a specific trail. Photo: Intermountain Region US Forest Service, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped, resized and converted to webp)

Quick answer

The Forest Service names this the Markagunt OHV System; we cover it as the Cedar Mountain-area trail system near Cedar City and Duck Creek. If you meant a different "Cedar Mountain" route (for example near Emery County), tell us and we will add it.

Rules and closures change. This page summarizes what the agencies and organizations named in the sources said when we read them on Oct 27, 2026 (America/Denver). It is not legal advice and it is not a route plan. Before every ride, confirm routes, widths, seasonal closures and fire restrictions with the land manager and the current motor vehicle use map (MVUM) or agency map. Where sources disagree or we could not confirm something, the page says so.

Sources disagree two or more sources give different figures; both are shownNot verified not published on the pages we read, or only in a secondary source

Key facts

Location & countiesDixie NF, Cedar City Ranger District: Markagunt Plateau around Duck Creek Village, Panguitch Lake and Stout Canyon. Counties are not stated on the Forest Service pages we read. [1, 2]Not verified
Managing agencyUSFS Dixie NF, Cedar City Ranger District, (435) 865-3200. Duck Creek Visitor Center (435) 682-2432 (via the Duck Creek Village Inn guide). [1, 3]
Total milesOfficial loop lengths (not counting spurs) are below. System-wide totals are not stated on the Forest Service page; secondary sources disagree widely. [1, 3]Not verified
Loops & main segmentsTrail 1 Markagunt Plateau: almost 82 miles (includes a roughly 2-mile OHV-only 62" section near Yankee Meadows; passes Panguitch Lake, Duck Creek Village, Stout Canyon). Trail 2 Sandy-Caddy Creek Loop: over 22 miles. Trail 3 Birch Spring-Pass Creek Loop: just under 20. Trail 4 Tommy Creek Loop: just under 17. Trail 5 Strawberry Loop: 12.5 (starts near Aspen Mirror Lake, about a mile north of Hwy 14). Trail 6 Harris Rim Loop: 14. Trail 7 Stout Ridge: over 11. Antimony Lake ATV Trail: about 10.4. Birch Creek ATV Trail: about 4.6. Spurs 11-18 are described on the Trail 1 page. [1, 2]
Trailheads & access townsDuck Creek Village (about 8,400 ft; ATV routes leave from the Duck Creek Village Inn lot), Panguitch Lake and Cedar City. Trail 5 starts near Aspen Mirror Lake. [1, 3]
ElevationDuck Creek Village about 8,400 ft; the plateau is higher. [3]
SeasonSecondary source: seasonal roads on the MVUM are open May 1 to Nov 30; snow and mud can delay practical riding, June to October is typically best. Confirm on the current MVUM and alerts. [3]Not verified
Width limitsCedar City RD order (Sept 16, 2022 to Sept 16, 2027): on MVUM trails designated 72" or less, vehicles over 72" wide, over 2,500 lb, or with high-pressure tires are prohibited. Trail 1 includes a roughly 2-mile OHV-only 62" section. Quads (typically 50" or less) are well inside these width limits. [4, 2]
Vehicle restrictionsCross-country travel is prohibited; designated routes only. Special closure order #0407-10-1: OHVs, including street-legal-modified ones, may not use roads posted closed to OHVs. [5, 1]
Permits & registrationUtah-registered machines follow the Utah DMV OHV registration rules; machines from other states need a Utah non-resident OHV permit ($35 per machine, valid 12 months). Every operator needs the Utah OHV education certificate (adult course is free and online; youth under 18 need a youth certificate). Details in the Utah rules summary. [6, 7, 8]
Fuel & lodging townsDuck Creek Village and Panguitch Lake have lodging and camping; Cedar City is the larger service town. Specific fuel stops not verified. [3, 9]Not verified
DifficultyNot rated on the Forest Service page; trails range from graded roads to rocky singletrack-width trail. Use the MVUM and local advice. [1]Not verified

Highlights

Hazards

Maps and official pages

Always download the current MVUM or agency map; the Utah OHV maps page lists statewide map sources. Utah rules summary: Utah OHV rules. We did not build a route map: we have no sourced trail coordinates.

Machines and loads

Quads (typically 50" wide or less) fit the 72" and 62" limits, and the 2,500 lb limit is unlikely to matter for a quad (add up machine, rider and cargo if you are heavily loaded). High-pressure tires are prohibited. Confirm your machine's width and weight.

Class in our databaseModelsFront rack rating (lb)Rear rack rating (lb)Towing rating (lb)
Entry (<500cc)966-90 lb133-180 lb802-1350 lb
Mid (500-649cc)1575-121 lb100-242 lb661-1830 lb
Mid-large (650-899cc)1488-120 lb176-240 lb848-1830 lb
Big bore (900cc+)10120-200 lb240-300 lb1500-1830 lb
2-up touring2344-121 lb77-242 lb772-1830 lb

Ranges across the models in our database for each class; blank cells in a source are skipped, and some front ratings are not published. Your own machine's rating is on its model page and in the owner's manual and is the number that counts.

See the model database and how to choose. Our database lists overall width where we could find it (see the Width column; blank means unknown). A quad of 50 in or less fits the 50-inch trails. Check your owner's manual against the width limits above, and remember that wide tires, spacers and cargo count toward width.

Gear for this trip

Product links may be affiliate links; we may earn a commission. Affiliate disclosure

What we could not verify

Sources

  1. Dixie National Forest: Markagunt OHV System (updated Feb 27, 2026)
  2. Dixie National Forest: Trail 1 Markagunt Plateau (updated Oct 24, 2025)
  3. Duck Creek Village Inn: Markagunt OHV system guide (lodging business; secondary)
  4. Dixie NF: Cedar City Ranger District motorized trail size restrictions (order, Sept 16, 2022 to Sept 16, 2027)
  5. Dixie National Forest: OHV page (updated Apr 29, 2026)
  6. Utah Outdoor Recreation: Off-highway vehicles (program home)
  7. Utah Outdoor Recreation: Non-resident OHV permits
  8. Utah Outdoor Recreation: OHV laws & rules
  9. Dixie National Forest: Camping & cabins (dispersed camping rules)

Last verified Oct 27, 2026 (America/Denver). Structured data: trails.json, trails.csv.

More Utah trail systems